The Smoke Hunter

Nice Victorian ladies shouldn’t run off to find lost Central American cities.

One trifling little arrest shouldn’t have cost Ellie Mallory her job. It’s just the latest in a long line of injustices facing any brilliant female with archaeological ambitions in Victorian England.
When Ellie stumbles across the map to a mysterious ancient city, she knows she’s holding her chance to show the world what she’s capable of—but she’s not the only one after the prize. A disgraced professor and his ruthless handler are hot on her heels, willing to go to any extreme to acquire the map for themselves.
To race them through the uncharted jungles of British Honduras, Ellie needs a guide. The only one who knows the territory is maverick surveyor Adam Bates—and his determination to nose his way into Ellie’s secrets makes him a dangerous partner.
As Ellie and Adam navigate mysterious ruins, deadly cataracts and one seriously angry boar, she realizes more than just her ambition is at stake. There’s a deadly force lurking at the heart of the city—and if it falls into the wrong hands, it could shake the fate of the world. 

The Smoke Hunter is the first book in a high-stakes, rip-roaring historical adventure series perfect for fans of The Mummy and Romancing the Stone. 

Content warning for The Smoke Hunter:

Contains captivity, bombing, animal death, plague, blood, alcohol use, death of a character, threatening with a firearm and a moderately steamy embrace.

Praise for The Smoke Hunter

“This is one fun, wild ride of an adventure tingled with the paranormal, magical, mystical and believable.”

~ RT Book Reviews

“Crisp, clean and smoothly written, this first novel by Jacquelyn Benson gives readers adventure, romance, exotic locations and a lot of fun.”

~ Amazon Reviewer

“Intrigue and suspense aplenty. A refreshing and original new voice.”

~ Sunday Times Bestseller Scott Mariani

“Fans of spirited heroines, dashing heroes, and perilous mysteries will love this rollicking adventure.”

~ New York Times Bestselling Author Deanna Raybourn

Dive deeper into the world of The Smoke Hunter

Meet Ellie Mallory

Get the stats on the swashbuckling suffragette heroine of The Smoke Hunter

Meet Adam Bates

Learn more about Ellie’s snake-wrangling, Cambridge-educated guide

The True History

Separate fact and fiction and learn about the surprising real history and mythology that inspired the story

Reading Groups

Get a printable discussion guide and a unique way to let Jacquelyn be a part of your group’s gathering 

Stay in touch. Subscribe to the newsletter.

Looking for more of Ellie Mallory or Adam Bates? Newsletter subscribers get exclusive first notice of upcoming book releases, cover reveals and giveaways, as well as personal updates from Jacquelyn.

BONUS: Newsletter subscribers will also get a free crossover novelette featuring Ellie Mallory of The Smoke Hunter and a young Lord Strangford of The Charismatics, releasing this June.

This site is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for this website to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.